Night Sky Experience

Lakestone Lodge is located in the middle of the largest International Dark Sky Reserve and is one of the best places in the world to see the Milky Way (depending on conditions).

We offer a small private Night Sky Experience for lodge guests only.

Guided 10min walk to a secret spot away from the lodge and the highway where the only other light that you see is from the stars above
Relax in a perfectly positioned hammock so you are looking directly at the wonders above.
A blanket and hand warmers are provided as sometimes winter temperatures can drop well below freezing.

Lie back and if you are lucky you will see the following features with your naked eye:

  • shooting stars
  • the Southern Cross
  • satellites passing overhead
  • planets
  • the Milky Way
  • other galaxies

Your guide will point out all the highlights of the southern sky with a high powered laser pointer.

 

Warm MerinoMink clothing is available for purchase from reception.

 

1 Hour Duration. Cost $75 per person. Email your interest but bookings will be made on the day at Lakestone Lodge.

 

Please see below for the dates and times we will be running the experience if the conditions are perfect. 

Monday, 1 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 3 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 5 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 8 January 2018  -  11:30 PM
Wednesday, 10 January 2018  -  11:30 PM
Friday, 12 January 2018  -  11:30 PM
Monday, 15 January 2018  -  11:00 PM
Wednesday, 17 January 2018  -  11:00 PM
Friday, 19 January 2018  -  11:00 PM
Monday, 22 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 24 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 26 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 29 January 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 31 January 2018  -  11:00 PM
Friday, 2 February 2018  -  11:00 PM
Monday, 5 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Wednesday, 7 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Friday, 9 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Monday, 12 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Wednesday, 14 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Friday, 16 February 2018  -  10:30 PM
Monday, 19 February 2018  -  10:00 PM
Wednesday, 21 February 2018  -  10:00 PM
Friday, 23 February 2018  -  10:00 PM
Monday, 26 February 2018  -  10:00 PM
Wednesday, 28 February 2018  -  10:00 PM
Friday, 2 March 2018  -  10:00 PM
Monday, 5 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Wednesday, 7 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Friday, 9 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Monday, 12 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Wednesday, 14 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Friday, 16 March 2018  -  9:30 PM
Monday, 19 March 2018  -  9:00 PM
Wednesday, 21 March 2018  -  10:00 PM
Friday, 23 March 2018  -  11:30 PM
Monday, 26 March 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 28 March 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 30 March 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 2 April 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 4 April 2018  -  8:00 PM
Friday, 6 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 9 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 11 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 13 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 16 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 18 April 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 20 April 2018  -  9:30 PM
Monday, 23 April 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 25 April 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 27 April 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 30 April 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 2 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 4 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 7 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 9 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 11 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 14 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 16 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 18 May 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 21 May 2018  -  11:30 PM
Wednesday, 23 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 25 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 28 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 30 May 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 1 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 4 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 6 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 8 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 11 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 13 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 15 June 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 18 June 2018  -  10:30 PM
Wednesday, 20 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 22 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 25 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 27 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 29 June 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 2 July 2018  -  8:00 PM
Wednesday, 4 July 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 6 July 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 9 July 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 11 July 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 13 July 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 16 July 2018  -  9:00 PM
Wednesday, 18 July 2018  -  11:30 AM
Friday, 20 July 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 23 July 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 25 July 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 27 July 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 30 July 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 1 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 3 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 6 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 8 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 10 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 13 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 15 August 2018  -  10:30 PM
Friday, 17 August 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 20 August 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 22 August 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 24 August 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 27 August 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 29 August 2018  -  8:00 PM
Friday, 31 August 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 3 September 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 5 September 2018  -  8:30 PM
Friday, 7 September 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 10 September 2018  -  8:30 PM
Wednesday, 12 September 2018  -  9:00 PM
Friday, 14 September 2018  -  11:30 PM
Monday, 17 September 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 19 September 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 21 September 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 24 September 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 26 September 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 28 September 2018  -  8:30 PM
Monday, 1 October 2018  -  9:00 PM
Wednesday, 3 October 2018  -  9:00 PM
Friday, 5 October 2018  -  9:00 PM
Monday, 8 October 2018  -  9:30 PM
Wednesday, 10 October 2018  -  9:30 PM
Friday, 12 October 2018  -  11:00 PM
Monday, 15 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 17 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 19 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 22 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 24 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 26 October 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 29 October 2018  -  10:00 PM
Wednesday, 31 October 2018  -  10:00 PM
Friday, 2 November 2018  -  10:00 PM
Monday, 5 November 2018  -  10:00 PM
Wednesday, 7 November 2018  -  10:00 PM
Friday, 9 November 2018  -  10:30 PM
Monday, 12 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 14 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 16 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 19 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 21 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 23 November 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 26 November 2018  -  11:00 PM
Wednesday, 28 November 2018  -  11:00 PM
Friday, 30 November 2018  -  11:00 PM
Monday, 3 December 2018  -  11:00 PM
Wednesday, 5 December 2018  -  11:00 PM
Friday, 7 December 2018  -  11:30 PM
Monday, 10 December 2018  -  11:30 PM
Wednesday, 12 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 14 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 17 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 19 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 21 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 24 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Wednesday, 26 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Friday, 28 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase
Monday, 31 December 2018  -   No experience due to moon phase