Night Sky Experience

Lakestone Lodge is located in the heart of the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve and is one of the best places in the world to see the Milky Way (depending on conditions).

We offer an 'out of this world' unique guided tour in our purpose built (fully accessible) Night Sky Arena where you can lie back in a recliner chair, snug with a warm woolen blanket and a hot drink (mulled wine, hot chocolate, tea or coffee) to warm your insides on those cold winter nights.

Kick back, relax and you might get to see the following features with your naked eye:

  • More stars than most people have ever seen in their lives
  • 'Shooting stars'
  • Satellites passing overhead
  • Planets
  • The Southern Cross
  • The Milky Way
  • Constellations
  • Other galaxies
  • All with no obvious city or town light pollution (we are 150kms from the nearest traffic lights)
  • Also no airplanes overhead at night here
  • When visible we will use a powerful telescope to see craters on the moon, the rings of Saturn and/or Jupiter and up to 4 moons orbiting Jupiter

 

 

Your guide will point out all the highlights of the southern sky with a special (high powered) laser pointer, teach you how to navigate using the stars, entertain you with interesting stories and blown your mind with some 'facts' 

Tours ($75 per person) are offered Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday nights* (see times below). Private tours can be arranged at other times ($250 per group 1-6 people or $400 for 7-12 people or $75pp if we find other guests to share the experience with you).

Tours will be confirmed at 8pm on the night. If cancelled due to cloud cover there will be no charge/full refund.

 

!! IMPORTANT !! When the moon is full or near full it floods the night sky with reflected sunlight and makes the fainter stars impossible to see with the naked eye. It is recommended for the best experience to come to Lakestone Lodge in winter around the time of the new moon if possible.   

We recommend staying 3-4 nights for the best chance to see the stars. Ideally book the Night Sky Experience on your first night.

Below is a schedule of tour times and the best time to see the stars

***** = Excellent 
****  = OK - most faint stars are still visible
***    = Faint stars are hard to see, ideally visit Lakestone at another time
**     = Only the brightest stars are visible, ideally visit Lakestone at another time
*      = The worst time to see the night sky, ideally visit Lakestone at another time

*****  2021 July 1  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 July 4  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 July 6  Tuesday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 July 8  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 July 11  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 July 13  Tuesday  8:45pm      

***    2021 July 15  Thursday   8:45pm   -  The moon is bright

**      2021 July 18  Sunday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 July 20  Tuesday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 July 22  Thursday   8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 July 25  Sunday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 July 27  Tuesday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

*****  2021 July 29  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 1  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 3  Tuesday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 5  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 8  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 10  Tuesday  8:45pm      

****   2021 August 12  Thursday   8:45pm   -  The moon is bright

***    2021 August 15  Sunday  8:45pm   -  The moon is bright

**      2021 August 17  Tuesday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 August 19  Thursday   8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 August 22  Sunday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 August 24  Tuesday  8:45pm   -  The moon is very bright

*****  2021 August 26  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 29  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 August 31  Tuesday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 September 2  Thursday   8:45pm      

*****  2021 September 5  Sunday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 September 7  Tuesday  8:45pm      

*****  2021 September 9  Thursday   8:45pm      

***    2021 September 12  Sunday  9:00pm   -  The moon is bright

**      2021 September 14  Tuesday  9:00pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 September 16  Thursday   9:00pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 September 19  Sunday  9:00pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 September 21  Tuesday  9:00pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 September 23  Thursday   9:00pm   -  The moon is very bright

*****  2021 September 26  Sunday  9:00pm      

*****  2021 September 28  Tuesday  9:00pm      

*****  2021 September 30  Thursday   9:00pm      

*****  2021 October 3  Sunday  9:00pm      

*****  2021 October 5  Tuesday  9:00pm      

*****  2021 October 7  Thursday   9:30pm      

****   2021 October 10  Sunday  9:30pm   -  The moon is bright

***    2021 October 12  Tuesday  9:30pm   -  The moon is bright

**      2021 October 14  Thursday   9:30pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 October 17  Sunday  9:30pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 October 19  Tuesday  9:30pm   -  The moon is very bright

**      2021 October 21  Thursday   9:30pm   -  The moon is very bright

*****  2021 October 24  Sunday  10:00pm   -  Late

*****  2021 October 26  Tuesday  10:00pm   -  Late

*****  2021 October 28  Thursday   10:00pm   -  Late

*****  2021 October 31  Sunday  10:00pm   -  Late

****   2021 November 2  Tuesday  10:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

****   2021 November 4  Thursday   10:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***    2021 November 7  Sunday  10:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is bright

**      2021 November 9  Tuesday  10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is bright

*        2021 November 11  Thursday   10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is bright

*        2021 November 14  Sunday  10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 November 16  Tuesday  10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 November 18  Thursday   10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 November 21  Sunday  10:30pm  -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

**      2021 November 23  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 November 25  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 November 28  Sunday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 November 30  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 2  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 5  Sunday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 7  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is bright

*        2021 December 9  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is bright

*        2021 December 12  Sunday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 December 14  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 December 16  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 December 19  Sunday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

*        2021 December 21  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight and the moon is very bright

**      2021 December 23  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 26  Sunday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 28  Tuesday  11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2021 December 30  Thursday   11:00pm   -  Late, long twilight = not as dark

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
**      2022 January 02 Sunday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 January 04 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

*        2022 January 06 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 09 Sunday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 11 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 13 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 16 Sunday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 18 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 January 20 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

***    2022 January 23 Sunday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight

***    2022 January 25 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight

***    2022 January 27 Thursday 10:30pm - Long twilight

***    2022 January 30 Sunday 10:30pm - Long twilight

***    2022 February 01 Tuesday 10:30pm - Long twilight

***    2022 February 03 Thursday 10:30pm - Long twilight

***    2022 February 06 Sunday 10:30pm - Long twilight

**      2022 February 08 Tuesday 10:30pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 February 10 Thursday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 February 13 Sunday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 February 15 Tuesday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 February 17 Thursday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 February 20 Sunday 10:00pm - The moon is very bright

****  2022 February 22 Tuesday 10:00pm  

****  2022 February 24 Thursday 10:00pm  

****  2022 February 27 Sunday 10:00pm  

****  2022 March 01 Tuesday 10:00pm  

****  2022 March 03 Thursday 10:00pm  

****  2022 March 06 Sunday 9:30pm  

***    2022 March 08 Tuesday 9:30pm - The moon is bright

***    2022 March 10 Thursday 9:30pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 March 13 Sunday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 March 15 Tuesday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 March 17 Thursday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 March 20 Sunday 9:00pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 March 22 Tuesday 9:00pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 March 24 Thursday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 March 27 Sunday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 March 29 Tuesday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 March 31 Thursday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 April 03 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 April 05 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 April 07 Thursday 8:45pm  

**      2022 April 10 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 April 12 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 April 14 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 April 17 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 April 19 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 April 21 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 April 24 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 April 26 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 April 28 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 01 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 03 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 05 Thursday 8:45pm  

**      2022 May 08 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 May 10 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 May 12 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 May 15 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 May 17 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 May 19 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 May 22 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 24 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 26 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 29 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 May 31 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 02 Thursday 8:45pm  

***    2022 June 05 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is bright

***    2022 June 07 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 June 09 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 June 12 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 June 14 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 June 16 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 June 19 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 21 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 23 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 26 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 28 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 June 30 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 03 Sunday 8:45pm  

****  2022 July 05 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is bright

***    2022 July 07 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 July 10 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 July 12 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 July 14 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 July 17 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 19 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 21 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 24 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 26 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 28 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 July 31 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 02 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***    2022 August 04 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 August 07 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 August 09 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 August 11 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 August 14 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 August 16 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 18 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 21 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 23 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 25 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 28 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 August 30 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***    2022 September 01 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 September 04 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 September 06 Tuesday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 September 08 Thursday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 September 11 Sunday 8:45pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 September 13 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 September 15 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 September 18 Sunday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 September 20 Tuesday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 September 22 Thursday 8:45pm  

***** 2022 September 25 Sunday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 September 27 Tuesday 9:00pm  

***** 2022 September 29 Thursday 9:00pm  

***    2022 October 02 Sunday 9:00pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 October 04 Tuesday 9:00pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 October 06 Thursday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 October 09 Sunday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 October 11 Tuesday 9:30pm - The moon is very bright

***** 2022 October 13 Thursday 9:30pm  

***** 2022 October 16 Sunday 9:30pm  

***** 2022 October 18 Tuesday 9:30pm  

***** 2022 October 20 Thursday 9:30pm  

***** 2022 October 23 Sunday 9:30pm  

***** 2022 October 25 Tuesday 10:00pm  

***** 2022 October 27 Thursday 10:00pm  

***    2022 October 30 Sunday 10:00pm - The moon is bright

**      2022 November 01 Tuesday 10:00pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 November 03 Thursday 10:00pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 November 06 Sunday 10:00pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 November 08 Tuesday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

**      2022 November 10 Thursday 10:30pm - The moon is very bright

***  2022 November 13 Sunday 10:30pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 15 Tuesday 10:30pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 17 Thursday 10:30pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 20 Sunday 10:30pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 22 Tuesday 11:00pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 24 Thursday 11:00pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

***  2022 November 27 Sunday 11:00pm  Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 November 29 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is bright

*        2022 December 01 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 December 04 Sunday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 December 06 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 December 08 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

*        2022 December 11 Sunday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is very bright

**      2022 December 13 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 December 15 Thursday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 December 18 Sunday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 December 20 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 December 22 Thursday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

**      2022 December 25 Sunday 11:00pm - Late, long twilight = not as dark

*        2022 December 27 Tuesday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is bright

*        2022 December 29 Thursday 11:00pm - Late and the moon is bright